Dixie State University

Undergraduate Research Committee

Undergraduate Research (UR) Committee Mission Statement

The UR Committee at Dixie State promotes, coordinates and celebrates undergraduate student research achievements across our campus. To draw attention to outstanding student accomplishments, the committee hosts an annual student research day. The committee also assists with and recommends student proposals for inclusion in the annual Utah Conference on Undergraduate Research.

The UR Committee is comprised of faculty members from multiple disciplines, undergraduate research interns, and DSUSA student representatives. The Committee meets bi-monthly to discuss, plan and coordinate research activities across campus.

UR Committee Members




Email Address

Kate Barry Intern Kate.Barry@dixie.edu
Sylvia Bradshaw Office of Sponsored Programs bradshaw@dixie.edu
John Burns Library burns@dixie.edu
Vinodh Chellamuthu Mathematics Vinodh.Chellamuthu@dixie.edu
Gabriela Chilom Chemistry chilom@dixie.edu
Travis Ficklin Exercise Science Travis.Ficklin@dixie.edu
Jesse Hicks Mathematics Jesse.Hicks@dixie.edu
Abu Khan Finance Abu.Khan@dixie.edu
Danielle Larsen-Rife Psychology dlarsenrife@dixie.edu
Robert Matheson Music matheson@dixie.edu
Joy McMurrin English Joy.McMurrin@dixie.edu
Erin O’Brien Biology obrien@dixie.edu
Erin Ortiz Communications Erin.Ortiz@dixie.edu
Olga Pilkington English opilkington@dixie.edu
Rico Del Sesto Chemistry – Chair of UR Committee delsesto@dixie.edu
Kathryn Syssoyeva Theatre kmsys@dixie.edu
Trevor Terrill Engineering Trevor.Terrill@dixie.edu
Bobbie Ursin Office of Sponsored Programs Bobbie.Ursin@dixie.edu
Lilian White Intern Lilian.White@dixie.edu
John Wolfe Philosophy wolfe@dixie.edu
Jeff Yule Honors Program Jeff.Yule@dixie.edu