On-campus Research

The following table provides on-campus research opportunities. Please email the mentor for further instructions on how to apply. Remember to check back as this page will be updated each semester.

Faculty Research Projects

Mentor Discipline Project Name/Description Contact

College of Business

Derick Esplin, Ph.D. Accounting Upgrading the accounting curriculum: Skills that accounting graduates need in order to have a successful career in accounting. DerrickEsplin@dixie.edu
Shandon Gubler, Ph.D. Business Connecting students with real-world practitioners and monitoring those relations. Dr. Gubler has collected data on 8,318 interactions between students and employers. gubler@dixie.edu

College of Science, Engineering, & Technology

Doug Sainsbury Biology Advisor for Biology, Pre-Professional and Dixie Pre-Medical Alliance students. For information on the Stanford Research Internship or other opportunities in Biology, do not hesitate to contact Doug. sainsbu@dixie.edu
Geoff Smith Ph.D. Biology Research on the Side-Blotched Lizards that has been published in different scientific journals. Geoff.Smith@dixie.edu
Curt Walker Ph.D. Biology Study of the canyon tree frogs in Zion National Park. walker@dixie.edu
Rico Del Sesto, Ph.D. Chemistry Materials Science Design and synthesis of new chemicals and materials with applications in medicine (antibacterial, antifungal), energy (biofuels, heat transfer fluids), environment (sampling, decontamination, forensics), and optical/magnetic responsive materials. delsesto@dixie.edu
Zhenyu Jin, Ph.D Geograpgy/GIS GIS, Disease and Health Mapping. Research on the application  GIS to monitor and map spread of disease, healthcare issues. Zhenyu.Jin@dixie.edu
Elizabeth Cornwall Mathematics History of mathematics: the origins of trigonometric functions (such as the tangent function) through early and medieval Islam. ecornwall@dixie.edu
Vinodh Chellamuthu, Ph.D.
Mathematics Mathematical Modeling, Ecology, Biology, Data Analytics, Differential Equations, Numerical Analysis, Spread of Disease. Vinodh.Chellamuthu@dixie.edu
Jesse Hicks Ph.D Mathematics Abstract algebra and space-time. Jesse.Hicks@dixie.edu
Bhuvaneswari Sambandham (BUNA), Ph.D. Mathematics Fractional differential equations and numerical methods for ordinary and partial differential equations. Buna.Sambandham@dixie.edu
McKay Sullivan. Ph.D
Mathematics Game Theory, Cryptography, Mathematical Physics, Representation Theory & Conformal Field Theory. Mckay.Sullivan@dixie.edu
­­Russell Reid Ph.D. Mechanical engineering Currently investigating the potential of liquid-based kinetic energy harvesting for biomedical applications. Russell.Reid@dixie.edu

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Florence Bacabac, Ph.D. English

Professional and Technical Writing Emphasis

Writing for Multimedia and the Web. bacabac@dixie.edu
Olga A. Pilkington, Ph.D. English Linguistics Language of popular science (presented discourse of scientists), Lab lit (genre of literature that deals with science and scientists). opilkington@dixie.edu
Shauna Wight English Online affinity spaces and literacy learning, how literacy education affects students’ educational trajectories, teaching for transfer. shauna.wight@dixie.edu
Theda Wrede English Literary studies including multicultural, feminist, postcolonial, and environmental criticism in American and world literature. wrede@dixie.edu
Amanda Scott English Victorian literature, gender studies, Native American literature/ tribal identity, Romantic poetry, Civic Engagement. scotta@dixie.edu
Joy McMurrin English/Professional and Technical Writing Writing in the professions. Technical documentation. Web 2.0. Interactive media. Design. Usability. joy.mcmurrin@dixie.edu
Erin Ortiz, Ph.D Organizational Communication Organizational Communication and Service Leadership. Erin.Ortiz@dixie.edu
Dannelle Larsen-Rife, Ph.D. Psychology &

Neurobiology

Developmental science, practice, and application of interpersonal neurobiology, especially as it applies to Integrative Health. Particularly interested in understanding how early experience contributes to mental and physical health across lifespan. dlarsenrife@dixie.edu
Kristine Olson, Ph.D. Psychology Industrial-Organizational Culture, diversity, work-family interface, gender, and organizational climate applied to the workplace. kjolson@dixie.edu
John Wolfe Philosophy Ancient Philosophy, Medieval Philosophy, American Pragmatism, Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, and Philosophy and Popular Culture. wolfe@dixie.edu
Matt Smith-Lahrman Sociology Qualitative sociology, ethnography, participant observation fieldwork. lahrman@dixie.edu
Raisa Alvarado Communication Studies, Rhetorical and Intercultural Studies Intersectional feminist epistemologies, social movements, intercultural communication, gender communication. raisa.alvarado@dixie.edu
Lish Harris Criminal Justice The effect of supplementary educational programs on juvenile delinquency and research on school shootings. As well as issues of social justice and race and crime. lharris@dixie.edu

College of Health & Sciences

Travis Ficklin, Ph.D.  Biomechanics

Exercise Science

Exercise Science, which include Biomechanics, Motor Control, and Measurement and Evaluation.  Research on flail-like motions and sports performance, especially in the realm of the diamond sports baseball and softball. Travis.Ficklin@dixie.edu
Susan Hart Ph.D. Exercise Science Exercise Science, Motor Learning & Bone Density. Comparison of different theories related to attentional focus in a rehabilitation setting. And investigation of factors that affect the development of bone mineral density. Susan.Hart@dixie.edu
Macey Buker, Ph.D. Health Sciences Healthcare Costs and Type of Insurance, Assessment, Graduate Student Selection, Healthcare Ethics, Opioid Abuse & Healthcare Price Transparency. Macey.Buker@dixie.edu
Lisa Welch Health Sciences Academic dishonesty in online learning. Undergraduate student knowledge of the oral transmission of sexually transmitted infections lwelch@dixie.edu
Brenda Armstrong MDH Oral Health Care / Nursing Home Health Reserach conducted with the support of Senior Charity Care Foundation (SCCF) and the Utah Dental Hygienists’ Association (UDHA) to study the oral health status of nursing home residents. barmstrong@dixie.edu

College of Education

Nancy Ross, Ph.D. Arts and Sciences Teaches interdisciplinary writing, feminism and whiteness. She has researched the history and sociology of the Mormon feminist movement­­. nross@dixie.edu
Mark Jeffreys, Ph.D. English Poetics and ethnographic study of a rural village in British Columbia. jeffreys@dixie.edu
Chelsea McCracken, Ph.D. Social Sciences Language and typological literature. Secondary focus: education with an emphasis on homeschooling. Chelsea.McCracken@dixie.edu

College of Visual and Performing Arts

Bryant Smith
Music 19th Century Mormon Brass Bands and their cultural connections to America Bryant.Smith@dixie.edu
Ka-Wai Yu, Ph.D. Music Doctoral thesis, entitled “When concerto meets song cycle: A study of vocal influences in Robert Schumann’s Cello Concerto in A Minor, OP.129 with reference to his Dichterliebe, OP. 48” Ka-wai.Yu@dixie.edu
Robert Matheson Music Electro-acoustic music performance practice and composition. As well as double bass performance, contemporary music and commercial music. matheson@dixie.edu

 

Contact

On-Campus Research

Email: research@dixie.edu

Phone: 435-652-4488