Skip to Content

On-campus Research

On-campus Research

The following table provides on-campus research opportunities. Please email the mentor for further instructions on how to apply. Remember to check back as this page will be updated each semester.

Mentor Discipline Project Name/Description Contact
College of Business and Communication
Derick Esplin, Ph.D. Accounting Upgrading the accounting curriculum: Skills that accounting graduates need in order to have a successful career in accounting. derrickesplin@dixie.edu
College of Science, Engineering, & Technology
Vinodh Kumar Chellamuthu, Ph.D.
Mathematics Mathematical Modeling, Ecology, Biology, Data Analytics, Differential Equations, Numerical Analysis, Spread of Disease. vinodh.chellamuthu@dixie.edu
Elizabeth Cornwall Mathematics History of mathematics: the origins of trigonometric functions (such as the tangent function) through early and medieval Islam. ecornwall@dixie.edu
Bhuvaneswari Sambandham (BUNA), Ph.D. Mathematics Fractional differential equations and numerical methods for ordinary and partial differential equations. buna.sambandham@dixie.edu
Rico Del Sesto, Ph.D. Chemistry: Materials Science Design and synthesis of new chemicals and materials with applications in medicine (antibacterial, antifungal), energy (biofuels, heat transfer fluids), environment (sampling, decontamination, forensics), and optical/magnetic responsive materials. delsesto@dixie.edu
McKay Sullivan. Ph.D
Mathematics Game Theory, Cryptography, Mathematical Physics, Representation Theory, Conformal Field Theory mckay.sullivan@dixie.edu
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Florence Bacabac, Ph.D.  English: Professional and Technical Writing Emphasis Writing for Multimedia and the Web bacabac@dixie.edu
Dannelle Larsen-Rife, Ph.D. Neurobiology Developmental science, practice, and application of interpersonal neurobiology, especially as it applies to Integrative Health. Particularly interested in understanding how early experience contributes to mental and physical health across lifespan. dlarsenrife@dixie.edu
Kristine Olson, Ph.D.  Psychology: Industrial-Organizational Culture, diversity, work-family interface, gender, and organizational climate applied to the workplace. kjolson@dixie.edu
Olga Pilkington  English: Linguistics Language of popular science (presented discourse of scientists), Lab lit (genre of literature that deals with science and scientists). Opilkington@dixie.edu
College of Health & Sciences
Brenda Armstrong
 Health Sciences Senior care by oral hygiene barmstrong@dixie.edu
Macey Buker, Ph.D. Health Sciences Opioid Abuse, Healthcare Costs, Healthcare Price Transparency macey.buker@dixie.edu
Virginia Hughes  Health Sciences Embryonic Stem Cell Research: Public vs Private funding on a Global Scale vhughes@dixie.edu
Lisa Welch Health Sciences Academic dishonesty in online learning. Undergraduate student knowledge of the oral transmission of sexually transmitted infections lwelch@dixie.edu
College of Education
Mark Jeffreys, Ph.D.
English  Poetics & Ethnographic study of a rural village in British Columbia. jeffreys@dixie.edu
Chelsea McCracken, Ph.D. Social Sciences Language & typological literature. Secondary focus: education with an emphasis on homeschooling. chelsea.mccracken@dixie.edu
College of Visual and Performing Arts
Bryant Smith
Music 19th Century Mormon Brass Bands and their cultural connections to America Bryant.smith@dixie.edu
Ka-Wai Yu, Ph.D. Music Doctoral thesis, entitled "When concerto meets song cycle: A study of vocal influences in Robert Schumann's Cello Concerto in A Minor, OP.129 with reference to his Dichterliebe, OP. 48" ka-wai.yu@dixie.edu

 

Contact

Rico Delsesto

Email: research@dixie.edu
Phone: 435-652-4488